Running Again – 2015 Edition

Full Moon over the bayThree years ago I was hit with Celiac Disease and my running derailed. It took 18 months to fully recover. I seriously need to get back in shape.

On Wednesday, 12/31/2014, I started running again. It was freezing cold out (40 degrees in SoCal is freezing BTW) so I layered up and drove to the Strand by the Redondo Beach Pier. I walked/ran 2.25 miles with 7 intervals of 50 seconds each. That was the best I could do. For the record, I started out at 216.5 pounds. On Sunday I weighed 219 pounds.


I also did some serious reading to get my mind in gear.

 

 

Full moon over the Strand

Today, Monday, 1/5/2015, I weighed in at 214.5 pounds. It was 52 degrees, so not as bad as Wednesday. I layered up again and headed for the Strand.

Some days it’s worth it to get up early.  The full moon was setting over Santa Monica Bay just at Sunrise.

I did another run/walk with eight 70 second intervals of running, improving 20 seconds over Wednesday.

Before Celiac I used C25K to get in shape.  I’m not using the app this time, but gradually pushing myself to extend my time and distance.

How are you challenging yourself in 2015?

 

About 1heartle

My passion and obsession is with books, reading, life-long learning, libraries, literacy and tutoring. A second passion is public speaking, teaching and powerful presentations. I am always experimenting with new teaching and training methods in an effort to find the most effective way to engage learners.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

